Shri Rajnath Singh to be the Raksha Mantri for the second consecutive term

On the back of a successful tenure from 2019-2024, Shri Rajnath Singh has been allocated the portfolio of Ministry of Defence for the second consecutive term by the President, as advised by the Prime Minister. A Member of Parliament from Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, Shri Rajnath Singh had taken over the responsibility to head Ministry of Defence for the first time on June 01, 2019.

Shri Rajnath Singh was born on July 10, 1951 in Chandauli district of Uttar Pradesh. He did his Masters in Physics from University of Gorakhpur. He was a teacher by profession. He served as Member of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly in 1977 – 1980 and 2001 – 2003. He was Minister of Education in Govt of Uttar Pradesh in 1991 – 1992. He served as Minister of Surface Transport in the Union Cabinet from 1999 to 2000.

Later he became Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 2000 – 2002. In 2003, he served as Minister of Agriculture in the Union Cabinet. He was elected to Rajya Sabha for two terms in 1994 – 1999 and again for 2003-2008. In 2009 he was elected to the 15th Lok Sabha. He also served as Member in the Committee on Ethics on October 07, 2009. Shri Rajnath Singh was inducted in the Union Cabinet in the Government led by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi on May 27, 2014 as the Minister of Home Affairs. He is married to Smt Savitri Singh and they have two sons.

Shri Sanjay Seth, a Member of Parliament from Ranchi, Jharkhand has been given the portfolio of Minister of State in the Ministry of Defence. Shri Sanjay Seth became an MP from Ranchi for the first time in 2019, and he was a member of Standing Committee on Information Technology. In 2024 also, he was elected to the Lok Sabha from Ranchi.