Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh chairs Consultative Committee Meeting of MHA

The Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh chaired the Consultative Committee meeting of Members of Parliament attached to the Ministry of Home Affairs on 15th June 2017.

Shri Rajnath Singh informed the members that this is for the first time that suggestions of the Consultative Committee are being obtained on the restructuring and reorganizing of the Ministry of Home Affairs. He mentioned that while some changes have taken place in the structure and processes of the Ministry during the last 70 years, there is still a need to start a larger discussion, and generate new ideas for reorganising the MHA in a manner that it can meet the rapidly changing security environment and emerging threats such as cyber crime. Shri Rajnath Singh informed that it is a beginning and if necessary further discussion will take place.

During the meeting, the members were informed regarding the existing work load, the requirement for long term planning to deal with issues such as terrorism and narcotics. The need for police reforms, cyber security, porous borders, revisiting of various laws was also highlighted.

Shri Rajnath Singh asked the members to give their suggestions on the subject. The members thanked the Union Home Minister for taking up this step as such subjects were never discussed earlier in the Consultative Committee Meetings. The Members stated that they will provide more inputs in due course and if needed, the subject may be discussed in subsequent meetings of the Committee.

Shri Rajnath Singh informed the members that their valuable suggestions have been noted by the Ministry and will be examined. He also mentioned that there should be a committee of professionals for thorough study of the subject. He thanked the members for their valuable suggestions.

Dr. Bhagirath Prasad, Shri Devendra (alias) Bhole Singh, Smt. Geetha Kothapalli, Shri Hukum Singh, Shri Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav, Shri Kirti (Jha) Azad, Dr. Thokchom Meinya and Shri T. G. Venkatesh Babu from Lok Sabha and Shri Bhubaneswar Kalita, Dr. K. Keshava Rao, Shri Mukul Roy, Prof. Ram Gopal Yadav, Smt. Ranee Narah, Shri S. Muthukaruppan, Shri Shantaram Naik from Rajya Sabha attended the meeting.

Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir and Shri Kiren Rijiju, Ministers of State for Home Affairs, Union Home Secretary, Secretary (Border Management), Secretary (Official Languages) and senior officers from the Ministry of Home Affairs were also present.